Starting January 1, 2023, a Highway Use Fee will be imposed on certain motor carriers for the privilege of operating certain heavy, multi-unit motor vehicles on any highway or public road in Connecticut.
The Highway Use Fee is applicable beginning in January, 2023 on all motor vehicles that carry a classification (under the Federal Highway Administration vehicle classification system - FHWA) between Class 8 and Class 13 and a gross weight of 26,000# or more.
Registration is required by all carriers who operate an eligible motor vehicle in Connecticut. After registration, a Highway Use Fee Permit will be issued and must be carried in the motor carrier's vehicle(s).
The Highway use fee is calculated based on the vehicle's weight and number of miles driven in Connecticut. The Fee ranges from 2.5 cents per mile to 17.5 cents per mile, depending on the weight of the vehicle. The first Highway Use Fee Return will be due on or before February 28, 2023 for miles traveled in January, 2023.
Contact us today with any questions and to get your Connecticut Highway Use Fee Permit - before January 1, 2023.